Clothing as an Identity

by

I think clothing can identify and unite certain people. Different cultures wear different things. Some thing worn in Africa might be viewed as strange if someone were to wear it in America. Therefore some people feel more comfortable following their native rituals and customs by wearing the clothes made out by their own people. However, I think clothing in America can sometimes be overrated. Many people use clothing to express themselves or impress others. America is a walking fashion show everyday. But I think we should wear what makes us feel comfortable and not to impress society. I think its okay to dress nice but you shouldn’t allow society or others to determine the way you dress or feel about yourself, because at the end of the day what’s important is how you feel about you.

One Response to “Clothing as an Identity”

  1. dbretern Says:

    I couldn’t agree more about the whole American fashion show argument. I personally dress to be comfortable, which means mesh shorts and a t-shirt everyday, maybe a jacket if it gets chilly. When I see different cliques wearing different clothes, I start to question how they feel that it is comfortable. I guess that’s what it’s going to be like if everybody in the country is so competitive.

Leave a Reply

