The Way We Dress and Our Identity

by

In high school, I tried to look nice every day. Whereas in college, I dress in sweatpants all the time. I don’t feel the need to try and impress people as much as I did in high school. I believe identity is defined in how we dress because how we dress is determined by how we feel about ourselves. I felt the need to look nice everyday because I wasn’t very confident in myself, especially freshman year. But as time went on my confidence rose and the need to impress people lessened. People judge you so much on what you wear in high school. A girl came up to my friend one day and said,”Hillary, you can always tell when you wake up late.” Implying that she didn’t look “nice”.  No wonder we dress to impress.

Leave a Reply

