Water Makes a New Path

by

“My mother always said my sister Satsu was like wood; as rooted to the earth as a sakura tree. But she told me I was like water. Water can carve its way even through stone…and when trapped, water makes a new path…”

 

     This quote sums up the entire movie for me, and means the most to me personally. Sayuri did not have a choice in being sold as a geisha, but she used what she was given, even though it was not ideal, to make something of her life. I would like to think that I have this quality also, in that whatever cards I am dealt, I always look at the brighter side, not just focus on how terrible my situation is. Sayuri certainly made her own path by being a popular geisha, but still keeping the goal of one day being with the Chairman. She knew what she wanted and was not going to let anything stop her, no matter what her situation was. I believe this is a great quality to have because if there are no goals, or those goals are easily shaken, then nothing will ever be accomplished. I am inspired by her unwillingness to give up, even when faced with the toughest of circumstances. Although I don’t have the daily struggles that Sayuri did, I still strive to make the most of the circumstances that I have.

3 Responses to “Water Makes a New Path”

  1. jacjones5 Says:

    I agree with this because I feel that it is wise to make yourself known in the world, but also to keep your morals. I always liked the quote “God doesn’t give me more than I can handle.” Sayuri had so many challenges but she made it through all of them, and in the end she got what she set out for. If you work hard enough and focus on your goals, your are most likely going to succeed.

  2. evane33 Says:

    I completely agree. I also wrote about how I felt Sayuri had no choice in her situation, but she had to endure perverted men hitting on her, criticism from cranky women, and numerous other obstacles. “We have to deal with the cards we’re dealt.”–Exactly. No matter what we have to do to achieve our goal, like Sayuri, we will muscle through each situation (human instinct?)

  3. A Monterrubio Says:

    This quote also hit home with me. There are many times when I have the choice of complaining about a situation or embracing it no matter how difficult it may be at the time. Sayuri took the obstacles in her life and formed her own path to follow ultimately achieving her goal.

Leave a Reply

