Memoirs of a Geisha quote analysis

by

Meganne Rueter

English 106

Blog entry 1-Memoirs of a Geisha

“I want a life that is mine!” -Sayuri

                For me this quote is one of the only ways I feel as if I can connect or imagine myself in Sayuri’s place. For every person, man, woman, or child this quote shows the ongoing frustration about having a life that is yours and lives up to what you imagine for yourself. As a college student I am finding that I am learning more and more about myself each passing day. When I was in high school, I often felt that the life I was living was not my own. I was who everyone said I was. I was not Meganne Rueter. I was the good basketball player who was good at just about any other physical sport. I was the kid in class that understood everything being taught and was too mean to say no to anyone asking for help. I did not realize that I did not have my own life then until very recently. Now I am doing what I want and love. This quote is more than just a vented frustration. It has a thought that nearly every single person has. And each person will strive as long as it takes to acquire a life that is completely their own. The sad fact is that some may never reach it, but the important thing is to not stop trying.

3 Responses to “Memoirs of a Geisha quote analysis”

  1. lmaple2013 Says:

    I agree with the opinion of this quote. The description as “more than vented frustration” is an interesting insight because when looking at the quote further there is more to the quote than frustration. The will to strive for our own lives is something that we all search for, and I agree with that view of this quote. Great insight!

  2. evane33 Says:

    I completely agree with you. We will always strive to be our best, no matter what it takes. Great analysis!

  3. carsonbowers Says:

    I completely agree with doing whatever it takes to achieve what you want. Its never a question if a hardship will come a person’s way, but rather when it will happen. Those who persevere through these times are the ones who will achieve their goals. Good analysis of thsi quote!

Leave a Reply

